SA Hip Hop Awards 2017

Share!Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on Google+

The long-awaited SA hip hop event of the year is finally here. On Wednesday, 13 December 2017, Gold Reef City will be hosting the 6th Annual South African Hip Hop Awards (SAHHA). The trendy, cultural occasion will take place at the casino’s The Lyric Theatre. Tickets sell for R200 – R385 per head on Computicket. Read on.

SA Hip Hop Awards 2017

The Overall Affair

The 2017 SA Hip Hop occasion promises to be the best you’ve ever had with “electrifying” and “breathtaking” performances by some of Mzansi’s top hip hop moguls. Held under the theme “Hip Hop Politics”, this year’s event will be hosted by Author and Comedian Nina Hastie, and SAMA award winner Amu aka Amunishn. The theme is said to have been inspired by looking at how politics affect and contribute to hip hop culture.

DJ Kenzhero will lead the decks. SA hip hop heads can look forward to acts from DJ Speedsta, Kwesta, K.O, Cassper Nyovest, Da Les ft Gemini Major, Frank Casino, Shane Eagle, Stogie T ft Emtee and Yanga to name a few.

#SAHHA2017 Nominees

This year, SA Hip Hop Awards recorded over 500 entries. Nominees are judged according to performances and achievements made between 15 September 2016 to 15 September 2017. The nominees for the 32 #SAHHA2017 categories were announced as follows:

Song of the Year

Song Title Artist
The Whole Thang Remix Frank Casino feat. Riky Rick
Tito Mboweni Cassper Nyovest
Ngiyaz’fela Ngawe Kwesta feat. Thabsie
Lifestyle Da LES feat. Gemini Major
Gqi Okmalumkoolkat feat. Amadando
By Any Means Stogie T feat. Yanga and Emtee
Don’t Forget to Pray AKA and Anatii
10 Fingers AKA and Anatii
Been Thinking Junior De Rocka feat. Golden Black and Maraza
The World Is Yours AKA


Best Album

Album Artist
Thuto Cassper Nyovest
Stogie T Stogie T
Yellow Shane Eagle
BCWYWF AKA and Anatii
Mlazi Milano Okmalumkoolkat


Mixtape of the Year

Mixtape Artist
Tellascope Bigstar
Morning Star Zoocci Coke Dope
The Cape & Good Dope Ganja Beats & Youngsta
Inja Yam Vol.1 DJ Sliqe
Dreams Money Can Buy J Molley


Best Male

Album Artist
Thuto Cassper Nyovest
Stogie T Stogie T
Yellow Shane Eagle
Mlazi Milano Okmalumkoolkat
Diamond In Africa Da LES


Best female

Album Artist
I Am Nelz
Beautiful Black Girl l Lee STK
Malatjie Patty Monroe
The New Era Sessions Rouge
Barkston Drive MegMafia


DJ of the Year

DJ Speedsta
Major League DJz
Junior De Rocka
DJ Sliqe
[A full list of nominees is available on the SAHHA website]

About SA Hip Hop Awards 2017

The 2017 SA Hip Hop Awards will take place at The Lyric Theatre in Gold Reef City, as already mentioned. The affair will start at 6 pm to 11:30 pm and winners will receive a ‘pyramid’ statue. Fans can look out for a number of appearances, live performances and tributes from today’s leading musicians.